The Conductors

Author(s): Nicole Glover

Sci-Fi & Fantasy | General Fiction

Perfect for fans of Victor LaValle and Zen Cho, a historical fantasy that speaks to the ugly truths of slavery._________________________________'An Underground Railroad - but with magic' P. Djeli Clark'...a delightfully genre-bending debut' Tananarive Due_________________________________Meet Hetty Rhodes, a former conductor on the Underground Railroad who now uses her magic to solve crimes in her community in a post-Civil War world. As an escaped slave, Hetty Rhodes helped dozens of people find their own freedom north using her wits and her magic. Now that the Civil War is over, Hetty and her husband, Benjy, still fight for their people by solving the murders and mysteries that the white authorities won't touch. When they discover one of their friends brutally murdered in an alley, Hetty and Benjy mourn his loss by setting off to find answers. But the mystery of his death soon brings up more questions, more secrets, more hurt. To solve his death, they will have to not only face the ugly truths about the world but the ones about each other. Perfect for fans of Victor LaValle and Zen Cho, The Conductors is a compelling debut by a fresh voice in fantasy fiction that will leave you longing for more._________________________________'... a wholly original and thoroughly riveting story... an unforgettable debut' DEANNA REYBOURN, New York Times best-selling author of A Murderous Relation

$24.00(NZD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781529102079
  • : Random House UK
  • : DEL REY
  • : March 2021
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Nicole Glover