The Collected Stories

Author(s): Isaac Bashevis Singer

General Fiction

Isaac Bashevis Singer's work explores humanity in all of its guises. This collection of forty-seven short stories, selected by Singer himself from across the whole of his career, brings together the best of his writing. From the supernatural "Taibele and Her Demon" to the poignant "The Unseen", and from gentle humour in "Gimpel the Fool" to tragedy with "Yentl the Yeshiva Boy", these tales explore good and evil, passion and restraint, religious fervour and personal failings, within the traditional shtetls of pre-war Eastern Europe and post-war America.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

There are whole fistfuls of masterpieces in this one volume: a cornucopia of invention... The Collected Stories, when all is said and done, is an American Master's 'Book of Creation'. The New York Times Book Review Sparkling and triumphant, Isaac Bashevis Singer's stories are filled with wonder, gratitude, humour, irony and a wry eroticism that manages to exalt the pleasures of the flesh and the soul at the same time Washington Post Book World

Isaac Bashevis Singer (1904-1991) was the author of many novels, stories, children's books, and a memoir. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1978.

General Fields

  • : 9780141196770
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : 0.426
  • : June 2011
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 27mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Isaac Bashevis Singer
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 839.133
  • : 624